Contributed photo
Representatives from Astera Health accepted an award for its Antibiotic Stewardship Program.

At its recent annual meeting, the Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) proudly awarded dedicated hospital and health system teams and individual healthcare trailblazers across Minnesota. Astera Health was an award recipient in the Quality and Safety Improvements category for its Antibiotic Stewardship Program. These recognitions serve as a testament to their unwavering commitment to nurturing the health of Minnesotans amidst an era of unprecedented healthcare evolution and strain.  

“In one of healthcare’s most challenging eras, our Minnesota hospitals and teams have stood unwaveringly by the patients and the communities we are privileged to serve. They’ve not only ensured exceptional care but have also been a beacon of hope and trust. This is our moment to honor their dedication to every patient, every day. Their ongoing collaboration and commitment to excellence ensure that every Minnesotan continues to receive the best care possible,” remarked Rahul Koranne, MHA president and CEO.  

The Antibiotic Stewardship Program at Astera Health is designed to improve antibiotic use throughout the health system, improve patient outcomes, and reduce antibiotic resistance. The program involves a physician-supervised multidisciplinary committee that meets quarterly with the Infection Prevention Committee. A recent project involved MRSA PCR nasal swab and de-escalation of vancomycin. 

“It is an incredible honor to have Astera’s Antibiotic Stewardship Program recognized at the state level. We truly make a difference for our patients and ultimately achieve our mission to improve the health of the communities we serve,” said Michelle Hinojos, a pharmacist at Astera Health who is heavily involved with the program. She and Joel Beiswenger, President & CEO of Astera Health, accepted the award during the MHA Annual Meeting at Madden’s on Gull Lake on Sept. 23. 

MHA team award categories included Best Minnesota Hospital Workplaces, Community Benefits, Innovations of the Year in Patient Care, and Quality and Safety Improvements.