The Otter Tail Central girls cross country team captured first place at the Pillager Invite last week.

The Otter Tail Central Bulldogs competed in the Pillager Invitational on September 21. There were seven total teams in attendance. The Bulldogs won both the girls and boys varsity races, along with the JV boys race. 

Norah Froslee broke the school record on September 14 at the Ada cross country meet.

The girls were led by Norah Froslee who won her second race of the season. The Pillager course featured plenty of hills which made it the most difficult course the Bulldogs have seen this season. 

The win came on the heels of Froslee’s win on September 14 in Ada where she set the new girls school record with a time of 19:56.6

“It was an exciting day for cross country. Norah now holds the triple crown of school records with the mile and two mile in track, and now the 5k record,” said head coach Brady Specher. “She took the lead with a mile and a half left in the race and never looked back. On the guys side we were led again by Peter who has been rock solid so far in the one spot for us. He missed state by one place last year and so far this year has established himself as one of the best runners in our section. We have some big goals left to accomplish this year and I’m excited to see what we can achieve.”

On the guys side the Bulldogs swept the top four spots in the varsity race with an emphasis on pack running and had six in the top 11 spots for the JV races.

JH Girls

3rd Tegan Brandon 14:16

4th Quinn Hagemesiter  15:04

JH Boys

4th Drew Robinson 14:04

10th Benji Sanmoogan 16:10

15th Nathan Sanmoogan 25:12

JV Boys

1st Dylan Geihsler 24:38

2nd Matt Brandborg 24:58

3rd Jack Robinson 26:03

4th Cayden Mansker 27:01

5th Fred Scott  27:07

7th MaCade Barbe 28:03

8th Nelson Huebert 29:13

Oren Brackin 11th 34:56

Varsity Girls

1st Norah Froslee 22:35

8th Delia Tebrugge 25:39

9th Laney Frost 26:04

13th Emily Christensen 27:28

15th Mae Hegemeister 27:36

Varsity Boys

1st Peter Newark 18:48.90 

2nd Talyn Setterholm 19:36

3rd Aidan Heggem 20:04

4th Jonas Hagemeister 20:15

9th Nathan Russ 21:38

11th Phoenix Allison 22:12

15th Jack Jossart 22:57