A total of 44 people were nominated for records award

West Otter Tail County 4-H members gathered in Battle Lake recently to honor members for their work for the past year. Several local 4-H members received recognition for their work with records.

On Sunday, Nov. 14, 4-H families gathered in Battle Lake to celebrate the 2020-2021 4-H award winners. Nominated for Records Awards were 44 youth, grades kindergarten through 13th grade. They submitted their records from Cloverbud (K-2nd grade), livestock, and non-livestock projects to their club leaders who then recommended them for awards.

Club officers submitted their records for review and resulted in Grace Polejewski, Dane Prairie 4-H and Natalie Bergem, Fergus 4-H being awarded the Outstanding Secretary award. Honorable Mentions were given to Brien Poser, Barnhard 4-H; Elijah Fronning, Eagle Lake 4-H; Dillon Nord, Norwegian Grove 4-H.

Jack Thormodson, Eagle Lake 4-H and Eva Rustand, Norwegian Grove 4-H won Outstanding Treasurer. Honorable Mentions went to Jonas Hagemeister, Amor 4-H; Brien Poser, Barnhard 4-H; Tommy Erickson, Dalton 4-H; Ava Thompson, Dane Prairie 4-H; Carlana Zetah, Fergus 4-H; Thea Olson, Grove Lake 4-H; Willem Pesch, Pelican 4-H.

Outstanding Reporter/Historian book review resulted in Sonja Lahti, Dalton 4-H winning.

Dane Prairie Club Leader, Chelsea Emerson, was nominated and received the 2021 Outstanding Adult Leader award. Dane Prairie 4-H received the Community Pride Award.  Fergus 4-H received the club of the year award. 

Mariah Fults, from Fergus 4-H, received the Daryl Carter Mentoring Award. Justin Beyer and Beyer Body Shop received the Friend of 4-H Award. The Joe and Stacy Thormodson family, of Dalton Gophers 4-H won 4-H Family of the Year. Elizabeth Karlgaard, Homeschool 4-H, won Outstanding Junior Leader. 

Twelve 4-H youth received their 4-H Graduation certificates: Andrew Jenson (7 years), Barnhard 4-H; Logan Frigaard (9 years), Dalton 4-H; Annah Evavold (11 years), Eagle Lake 4-H; Abby Tysdal (11 years), Fergus 4-H; Lindsey Petterson (14 years), Fergus 4-H; Leland Bjorklund (14 years), Nidaros 4-H; Lucas Bjorklund (14 years), Nidaros 4-H; Brigitte Froslee (12 years), Nidaros 4-H; Isaac Fisher (14 years), Nidaros 4-H; Nicholas Wiezorek (14 years), Oscar Trondhjem 4-H; Winston Heifort (14 years), Sverdrup 4-H; Wyatt Thorson (13 years), Sverdrup 4-H.