All seven boys break 20 minute mark

By Chad Koenen


The Otter Tail Central Bulldogs competed in one of the biggest cross country meets of the season on Thursday as they traveled to Perham for the Harrier Classic. Held at Arvig Park, the meet featured runners from nearly 30 teams, including Mountain Iron-Buhl, Lakeville South and everywhere in-between. 

Nora Froslee was the first Bulldog to cross the finish line as the freshman etched her name with the second fastest time on the top 10 list in school history with a time of 20:17.22. The Henning High School freshman finished in 38th place overall.

Senior Erika Heibel was the second Bulldog to cross the finish line as the senior finished in 57th place with a time of 20:54.8. Laney Frost finished in 75th place with a time of 21:31.5, while Kyleigh Shebeck finished in 79th place with a time of 21:51.7, Delia Tebrugge finished in 83rd place with a time of 22:04.3, Allyson Goodman finished in 120th place with a time of 23:46 and Emily Christensen finished in 122nd place with a time of 23:52.7.

“It’s hard to put into words what our athletes were able to accomplish today. We had spectacular performances from the junior high all the way to the varsity,” said head coach Brady Speicher. “We now have some runners on the team that have dropped over 5 minutes this season! These athletes are seeing first hand what consistency and hard work will lead to.”

On the boys side, Peter Newark was the top finisher for the Bulldogs as the freshman finished in 20th place with a time of 16:46.6. Talyn Setterholm, Jonas Hagemeister and Joseph Froslee ran in a pack throughout the race. Setterholm finished in 63rd place with a time of 18:01.6, Hagemeister finished in 65th place with a time of 18:03.37 and Froslee finished in 67th place with a time of 18:03.6. 

Aidan Heggem took 72nd place with a time of 18:19.3, August Wicklund finished in 19:31.1 and seventh grader Josiah Mansker finished in 116th place with a time of 19:47. 3. 

This is the first time in OTC history that all seven boy runners were under 20 minutes. Out of the 31 runners who competed in the race, 28 of them established personal bests. 

OTC Results

JH 2 Mile

Jack Robinson 13:41.02

Logan Jenson 14:04.42

Matt Brandborg 14:18.22

Oliver Heggem 14:54.92

Fred Scott 15:18.52

Oren Brackin 15:39.42

Ethan Sanju 16:25.12

Chase Hoff 16:31.42

Jordan Hallberg 16:31.72

Elias Chase 17:00.82


Peter Newark 16:46.64

Talyn Setterholm 18:01.74

Jonas Hagemeister 18:03.44

Joseph Froslee 18:03.74

Aidan Heggem 18:19.44

August Wicklund 19:31.14

Josiah Mansker 19:47.34

Emil Herrling 20:18.94

Jack Jossart 21:07.24

Mason Hoyt 22:32.74

Cayden Mansker 24:07.34

JH 2 Mile

Tegan Brandon 15:48.12

Claire Kraemer 17:53.72


Norah Froslee 20:17.24

Erika Heibel 20:54.84

Laney Frost 21:31.54

Kyleigh Shebeck 21:51.74

Delia Tebrugge 22:04.34

Allyson Goodman 23:46.04

Emily Christensen 23:52.84

Mae Hagemeister 25:52.64